Archive | 4:38 am

Mui Ne

25 Feb

The past week with Dustin in Mui Ne has been fabulous!   We stayed the whole week at Thai Hoa Resort because it is by far the nicest!  We spent most of our days at the beautiful pool, where I read a 400 pg novel start to finish in 4 days- my record (without skipping pages lol).  Dustin thought it was weird that I say that, but I always skipped pages and even chapters in grade school to get through a book, and I would just look up the chapter summaries online, why waste time right?

I have had some of the best food ever here.  Today I had a sweet and sour stir fried beef dish that contained seasoned beef peices, pineapple, tomatoes, cucumber, and cilantro, with a spicy soya sauce ontop. UNREAL.  My favorite breakfast is now banana and cream cheese in French bread.

Today we rented a scooter from our resort, and traveled around.  We went to the huge dunes here, that were just beautiful.  Little kids rent their crazy carpets out so you can ride down the dunes.  We did not do it tho, I was pretty mad after a little boy made punching gestures at me when we rode by on our motor bike.  I was starting to think tourists were not welcomed here much.  I said to Dustin that they must think we are Americans, and are holding a grudge from the war.  But I later read that 2/3rds of the population was not alive during the Vietnamese/American war, and that the young ones aspire to the American culture.

After traveling quite far from Mui Ne beach, where nothing but sand dunes and dessert was on both sides of the road, we ran out of gas.  Dustin started to freak out and get mad, but I was so calm and smiling I said don’t worry we don’t have anywhere to be, why be frustrated? We will just find a way to go get gas.  I was looking forward to the adventure.  I even documented the event on video.  We were the only car on the road, but it wasn’t long until a local guy was driving by and we flagged him down.  He turned around and pulled over and we signaled to him that we were out of petrol.  He did not really speak English, but he pointed down the road.  I told Dustin to go with him to get some gas and that I would stay with the bike.  I had no idea how long he would be, but I knew he would be back, so I had a seat in the sand and luckily had a large water that Dustin had packed as well.  It wasn’t long after that 3 Australians drove by and stopped to make sure I was okay, I told them we have it under control and thanked them.  Dustin was back in about 15 min with a clear bag of Gasoline.  The kind of bag you would fill your candy with from 7-11.  Dustin tried several times to give the local man money for his time, but he refused to take it.  It was so nice to see a man go out of his way to help us, and with no intention of taking money for it.

Tomorrow we are taking the bus to Nha Trang (no, not your favorite restaurant in Duncan Marley…sorry), the town.  Kevin will be meeting us their the next day.  Should be a good time, I heard there is a mud bath hot spring place!  Funnn!

xo

Jade

PS. While motor biking today we had to stop for some random cows that crossed the road! hahaha.  AND some of the cows have hump backs like a camel, whats with that?!
UPDATE: looked them up, they are called ZEBU’S !